Work and travel before university

Many young people know just a few things about life. Some just want to live day by day, look only in the present. They might never look into the future, do not know which path to go, what life they want to live. Some people become old while they still regret their youth life. The opportunity to learn and experience the real world could help them set their perspective and help them walk in the right direction. In my opinion, studying and working always has a line between them. I saw many people unable to manage themselves when they are facing the real world. If they have a chance to peek into another side, this will help them prepare to handle most situations in their life. Furthermore, travelling can help young people to see many possibilities in this world. They might find something that really impresses them because when they have to pick their major at the university, it might be the most important moment in their life. If they do it wrong, not only money that would be lost, their precious time will be wasted too. On the other side, doing something rather than study might distract them. After graduated from high school, their knowledge still fresh. If they do not continue to study after this, it might be hard to reconnected and this could take some time to be as good as that moment. I heard some idiom that said "strike while the iron is hot", this means they should use their knowledge while it still in good condition. In conclusion, work or travel before starting their university life might be good for someone who stills not knows which direction to go but for people who already know what to do, wasting their time on something unnecessary might get more disadvantage.