Women should stay at home rather than going to work.

The role of women in the society has long been a controversy. While progressive idealists support the notion that women should be given equal chances to work and excel in their careers, others disagree. In my opinion the time has come for women to have equal rights in their careers as their male counterparts. In the past, the general belief was that the main job of women was to get a husband, give birth to children, and take care of them while their husbands support the family financially. It is undeniable that women have to spend more time caring for their children than men, as they have natural roles that cannot be replaced such as breastfeed, however, many still believe that apart from family work, women are incapable of anything else. They claim women lack the strength, wit and courage required to survive in a working environment. However, such notion was only an excuse to maintain the male-dominated order of the past. In the modern and progressive society of today, it has been increasingly supported that women should have equal chances to boost their careers as men. Both two sexes have certain strengths and weaknesses, and to put it bluntly, women are capable of many things that men can and cannot do. For example, history has witnessed many neglected female inventors such as Hedy Lamarr-who invented Wifi, and we have seen an increasing number in policewomen who excel in their jobs. The evidence all support the fact that women are just as significant as men, and therefore should be given equal opportunities to work and extend their careers. In conclusion, I believe that the traditional view has become obsolete and sexist, and women should be able to work and develop themselves as men do.