Women are less aggressive than men

Some claim that females are more passive and less violent than men, mainly because of their passive and cherishing instinct. Several medical, social and cultural reasons might explain this statement. Historically, women in civilization had a limited and well stablished role. Females were forced to have an appealing passive personality in order to fit in society and ferocious manners were unacceptable. Since prehistoric times, motherhood and cherishing children, were task exclusively made and accepted for women. Consequently, women´s personality and identity has been shaped throughout society for many years, so that they can be seen as peaceful individuals. Furthermore, women have been less exposed to aggressive behaviour. For instance, most cultures sent men to fight wars or enrolled in hunting activities, while females stayed home, so women rarely had to be part of violence. Definitely, society gender roles and cultural aspects influenced in a non-violent attitude of most women. Another reason that explains the passive conduct of women, is due to physiological reasons. It is suggested that female hormones, such as oestrogen and progesterone, influence in female’s natural behaviour. Scientists have claimed, that high levels of testosterone, the main secreted hormone in males, has been related to aggressive conducts. For example, some medical studies developed by endocrinologist at prisons, showed that those prisoners who had committed the most violent crimes, had higher levels of testosterone. There is a strong association between violence and hormones levels. In conclusion, it is certain that women are less violent than men, his is probably related to social and cultural influence, as to gender physiology.