Air pollution and methods to prevent it

The increase of hazardous emissions, is a worldwide concern. Whilst some individuals consider that a day without cars might be an effective way to reduce noxious smog, others claim that other methods, such as public transport and renewable energies can be more efficient. Environmental experts suggest that a day without cars could reduce air pollution. In fact, the reduction of circulating cars would result in less fuel combustion. This method has now been implemented by some governments. A mandatory decrease of circulating automobiles is an established method used in highly contaminated countries, such as Mexico. Big cities, such as Mexico City or Guadalajara, have applied this method once a week. Consequently, the amount of smog has reduced significantly. However, it is important to consider that there are other contributors for smog such as factories waste incineration. Although the implementation of a day free of cars, might sound appealing to reduce contamination, other alternatives might be more effective to control toxic emission. Electric cars and the improvement of public transport are ways to reduce contamination. Nowadays technology development efforts have focused in the creation of clean and renewable energy. Developed countries, are starting to use electric means of transportations such as cars or underground trains. The use of hybrid or electrical transportation have contributed for a cleaner air. The incrementation of public transport might as well reduce the circulating vehicles. In conclusion, the development of renewable and clean energy mean of transportation and the reduction of circulating cars, might improve the quality of air.