With the world facing increasing social and economic lockdowns as a means to curb the spread of COVID-19, lockdown effectiveness has been highlighted by many. Lockdowns are deemed necessary by governments as a means of protecting citizens

It is argued that social and financial lockdowns are a crucial and effective way to reduce the transmission of Covid-19 and safeguard the citizens. This essay agrees with that opinion. I believe that through such quarantines, people’s health can be protected, and controlling the source of the epidemic is easier for the governments. Coronavirus, especially the Delta variant, is considered the most dangerous variant due to the high contagion, more than two times as contagious as previous variants. Therefore, lockdowns are considered as a necessary method to ensure citizens’ health. Take my neighbor’s case as an example. He was positive for the Covid-19 on December the 19th, but he had no idea about it so he still went shopping and hung out with his friends during the incubation period. As a result, on the 23rd of December, all the people he was exposed to were infected. In the past, when the health organization detected one case, what they did in parallel with treatment was to trace the infectious chain. Because as I said before, it just needs one infected person to spread to all the people around this one, and cases will go up exponentially. For instance, just three days ago, on the Christmas holiday, a big deal of people went out on the streets to have fun and celebrate the day, however, after they got home, many of them noticed symptoms of Covid-19 themselves. Not surprisingly, all the results are positive. That has made it difficult for authorities to know where the source of transmission came from. In conclusion, governments should use the lockdown method because of the community’s health and the ability to control the source of disease.