With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting the news from social media platforms. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that with an increase in usage of the internet many people are now relying on digital media platforms for news updates. This essay argues despite the fact that news on social media cannot be reliable at times, and also it brings in a huge loss for printing media, it is far more advantageous as people can get updates on what is going on around the world within no time and can also have access to the news from anywhere without any location constrains. On one hand, under many circumstances the news articles that are being published on social media are not fact-checked and are completely false which most people are not aware of. Many are falling victims to the fake news and are also sharing it with their close families and friends without completely knowing to what extent the news can be true which sometimes can create a panic. Also, fewer and fewer people now depended on print media such as newspapers to know what is happening across the world bringing in huge losses to the printing industry. For instance, if this scenario continues many people in this industry might lose their jobs and will have to look into alternative careers for their survival. On the other hand, people these days have very busy schedules to take time out to watch the news and are also impatient to wait for the next day to know about the news through newspapers. With many people now owning smartphones with good internet connectivity they can have access the news from any place. Also, news articles are available on social media within no time keeping people globally informed as to what is happening around them. For example, people who travel through local transports such as busses or metros can utilise their time to read news through social media if they wish to. To conclude, even though the news on social media can be false sometimes and also might push the printing industry into losses, people these days have very limited to watch news channels or wait for their morning newspaper the next day to get updates as to what is happening around the world.