Name and describe six areas of learner individuality and discuss their influence on successful language learning

Learning a foreign language is a delicate process that requires close attention to the various linguistic, psychological, and even physiological characteristics of an individual. It can be clearly noticed that some students master a foreign language faster and easier than others. Trying to identify the causes of this phenomenon, some scientists have identified areas of students' individuality in their works that help to explain which factors can influence the acquisition of a second language. For instance, British scientists Lightbown, Patsy M. , and Nina Spada published the article on the topic «How Languages Are Learned» and identified the following areas of learner individuality: Age, Personality, Intrinsic motivation, Experiences, Cognition and Native language. Based on the information received, this work will analyze each of the listed categories and conclude how they can affect the successful learning of a foreign language. Starting with Age, many assume that children are more successful second language learners than adults. It seems to us that children, especially young ones, easily fit into the role of native speakers, imitating the sounds of the teacher, repeating words and expressions, while grown-ups often struggle to achieve native-speaker-equivalent pronunciation and intonation. Children aged 5-11 years are usually faster to remember any kind of information, such as rules or new words. This may also be due to some physiological patterns. It is scientifically proven that there is a certain period of childhood when the brain works more efficiently. Moreover, the physiological changes cause the brain to lose its elasticity over time, or the ability to perform new functions necessary for language learning. Thus, there is a concern that it is better to start learning the language as early as possible. Although it is worth considering that there are many examples of individuals who learned a language at a mature age and also achieved success.