With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some People see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

These days, while online books have become increasingly popular, a decrease has been noted in paper books. Although some people accept this as a good initiative forward, others have a contrasting view. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of both types in detail. Electronic books have definitely been a good development according to some. This is because, not only they can get access to a wide collection of books on various networking sites, they also get access to the latest updated version of these books. Certain medical websites, for instance, have been designed to share soft copies of latest edition of books that are not yet available in bookstores. These people, therefore consider online books to be a better alternative where they can receive updated knowledge, free of cost. In contrast to people who prefer online reading, are those who maintain that hard copies are superior. They have reason to believe that having a book literally in front of you, enables you to concentrate far better than reading the same on your computer as it keeps you away from the distractions of surfing on the net. For example, when it has been stated in a research that people who read books online are more likely to encounter a considerable delay in terminating their books as compared to those who read its paper version. Hence, according to these people, reading from an actual book is more beneficial as it saves time. In conclusion, while electronic books have seen a rapid surge, a drop has been observed in conventional books. Even though e books is favoured by some, others still feel that it cannot replace paper based books.