With the recent development in technology like e-books some people feel that the printed media like books, newspapers and magazine will soon be a thing of the past. Others feel that those forms of media will never disappear.

Some people hold a view that traditional media, such as books, newspapers, and magazines will become obsolete as it happened in the case of the grandfather of CDs - VINYL RECORDS. While others, like me, still prefer a tangible printed book over an electronic ebook reader device and thus find it difficult to imagine that printed version would go out of fashion completely. To begin with, the overwhelming majority of people are doomed to spending endless hours in front of a computer screen, as most of the jobs require working with computers nowadays. I strongly feel that there is an urge to take a break from the intensity of technology, especially when the information we are looking for can be found in printed material. Who wouldn’t miss out a bookstore atmosphere, interaction with a real, knowledgeable shop seller eager to provide personal recommendations on books? The smell of the ink, the rustle of the pages flipping through your fingers, embellishment of our rooms filled with literary pieces on our bookshelves? I personally can hardly envisage an electronic device used as a substitute for my books. To flip the coin, it’s undeniably true that newspapers, magazines in digital format are less time-consuming to get. Ebooks are not only easily portable and accessible, but also the prices for online books are much lower compared to the cost we pay for printed word. They avoid the hassle of waiting in the line and it’s a huge time saver. Needless to say that the advantages of Ebooks seem to exceed the disadvantages. However, printed books serve as a physical entity, we pass them on, give them friends as a gift which is always considered as a valuable present. I am not certain if I got overly excited about getting a link to an Ebook. To sum it up, technological advances, such as E-books amazon kindle, are spreading the speed of the light and will definitely continue providing us with its comfort and multiple functions, but I firmly believe that printed word will never vanish from our bookshelves entirely. I am sure Cicero who once said, a room without a book is like a body without a soul, ” would totally agree with me.