With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources.

The current population figures of the world are quite worried some. The ever increasing birth rate of humans has put a lot of stress on the resources available in this world. The increase in population has also increased the demand for vehicles which in turn has made a global surge in the demand for oil and gas. In this essay, I will discuss about the about the harmful effects of discovering new areas of the world to access more resources such as oil and gas. Firstly, lets discuss about the effects of crude oil extraction from the seas and oceans on the marine life. Many countries in the world like US, Russia and India are the major players when it comes to crude oil extraction. Large equipments are installed in the water to extract oil and this is disturbing the habitat of sea animals. In the recent years, there have been numerous incidents of crude oil leak causing death to millions of fish. To add further, not just these incidents, but only set-up of oil companies in these areas is an attack on the nature and most sea animals are migrating to other areas because of threat to existence. Secondly, the increase in demand of oil and gas has increased the air pollution levels of almost all the countries which are there on the face of the earth. The vehicular emission is one of the primary reasons for the rise in air pollution levels, which is further impacting the nature by increase in temperature caused by ozone layer depletion. The humans face lot of health hazards because of pollution caused by the motor vehicles. For instance, the main reason for people having respiratory issues and skin cancer is the rise of harmful chemicals in the air. To conclude, I feel instead of discovering new areas and putting more pressure on the limited resources available in the world. We should look for innovation in the oil sector and more efforts should be put in the creation natural gas. For example, CNG has been widely used in India now, which is cheap and free from pollution as well. Hence, more such measures need to be taken which could help in saving the environment.