With the growing population it is a pressing issue as that to feed the population. Some people think the use of GM foods is the solution to the problem. In what extent

It is a huge challenge to feed the increasing population of the planet. Part of the society believes that the genetically modified foods provide a possible solution to these issues. I partially agree with this statement. I will express my views with the help of arguments in the following paragraphs. On one of the hand, it is true that the purpose of modified crops is to resist to diseases, fungus and parasites that would dramatically reduce the production. In order to feed a growing population, farmers and cooperatives are pushing the limits to ensure maximum yield. Consequently, the higher the agricultural farms harvest, the more there is to feed a maximum number of people. Therefore, it is a non-negligible solution as to use GM products. Moreover, even though the genetically modified organisms sound like being a solution, if the products are not distributed evenly amongst the population, there will still be issues into feeding everyone. Some part of the worlds have got profusion of stock and others have hardly enough. On the other hand, modifying and by instance making the plants more resistant, is also conducting into preventing our digestive system to dissolve the food properly. That is why we have seen, for the past couple decades, an increasing amount of people developing intolerances from certain molecules, such as gluten due to the wheat being more difficult to process. Moreover, in the process of changing the properties of the plants, an essential aspect of them: the nutrients. In conclusion, the solution is genuinely good but there are negatives consequences on human's health and that should be taken into account as well before deciding to rely on the GM.