With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

In today’s contemporary world, many young children and teenagers are able to access social media via the internet without adult supervision which puts them in harm’s way. This essay demonstrates that one of the foremost problems caused by this is exposure to online predators and educating and monitoring teenagers about it would be a viable solution. It has become a general perception that these predators are lurking out in the streets and public places trying to get to innocent children. Not only is that perception wrong but it is one of the major reasons as to how they go unnoticed. Online predators are known to use various online platforms to reach out to young gullible teenagers to extract personal information. For instance, statistics show that 65% of the time, online predators use social media to find their target. This further emphasizes the importance of educating teenagers and young children about the possible consequences of interacting with strangers on social media. One of the possible solutions to curb this issue would be the parents monitoring their ward’s chats occasionally and explaining to them the detrimental effects of interacting with strangers over online platforms. Not only will they be aware of their child’s social circle but they will also be able to keep an eye on the safety of their child. For example, a survey conducted by the UK government revealed that parents who supervise their child’s social media activity are twice as like to come across any unusual activity than parents who don’t. Therefore, it is legible to say that monitoring the kids’ social media interaction on occasion would result in positive outcomes. To conclude, access to the internet and social platforms could put teenagers in dangerous situations because of the presence of online predators, but it could be effectively solved by parents monitoring their childs’ chats from time to time and making them aware of the possible harmful outcomes of interacting with strangers.