Causes of Worldwide Land Degradation

During the 1990s, the land of three regions, such as North America, Europe, and Oceania was degraded. Land degradations make agricultural land becomes less productive. The major causes of land degradations were deforestation (30%), over-cultivation (28%), over-grazing (35%), and others (7%). North America's land was degraded by a total of 5% with 0. 2% of deforestation, 3. 3% of over-cultivation, and 1. 5% of over-grazing. On the other side, Europe, which is the biggest, was degraded by a total of 23% with 9. 8% of deforestation, 7. 7% of over-cultivation, and 5. 5% of over-grazing. And the last one, Oceania, was degraded by a total of 13% with 1. 7% of deforestation, 0% of over-cultivation, and 11. 3% of over-grazing. These show that North America was the best region that could take care of their own land and could minimalize the land degradation at that time. Although Oceania's land degradation was not caused by over-cultivation, it still held the biggest percentage of land degradation caused by over-grazing among the three regions.