With The Development Of Social Media, More And More Youngsters Are Being Allowed Unsupervised Access To The Internet

More and more children these days have complete access to the internet and this has raised several questions about the safety of this practice. Children who frequently use social media apps for interacting with their friends without being supervised can become victims of vicious crimes. In this essay, I will discuss some measures that parents can take to protect their children from the dangers of this practice. The most effective solution is supervised access to internet. Parents can ask their children to share their passwords with them. This does not have to be considered a privacy violation because young children should not have anything to hide from their parents. Likewise, parents can ask the children to use the internet while sitting in the drawing room where other family members can see what they are doing. Recently, we heard several incidences of teenagers committing suicide after falling prey to fraudulent online crimes. In many of these cases, the parents were either unaware of the consequences of their children’s online activities or they simply did not pay attention.