why libraries are still essential in our modern world

In the last 30 years internet has completely changed our lives and habits. In the past people filled their shelves with books, but nowadays libraries and bookshops seems to be not as essential as we were used to. This essay outlines the reasons that libraries are still an important resource for our culture. First of all, libraries are a great source for schools and universities. Books and scientific articles are stored in various categories which help people and students to find every subject that they are keen on. Ranging from astronomy to biology, science or literature. All the knowledge of the human kind is conserved in this marvelous place. Not only are libraries important for education purposes, but also for the services which they can offer. Novels, fairy tales and myths are only a few part of the infinite type and genre of literature. People have the possibility of searching and borrow the best book that perfectly fit with their personality. Furthermore, many bookshop have now modern computers where you can study or search new information about your kind of interest. On the other hand, internet has become the fastest way to buy a book. In less than a second, you can read everything you want at any time of the day. But not all people are able to use this modern technology, for instance the old generations are not interested in surfing the web or reading books through a lcd screen. In conclusion, although e-books has become a great source of information as a consequence of the modern technological revolution, in my opinion libraries are still essential in our culture, furthermore, a good old-fashioned paper book is probably more enjoyable than a computer.