With the development of media online, there is no future for the radio. To what extend do you agree?

Media online has become increasingly popular these days. While some people believe that radio might disappear soon, this essay disagrees that it would remain functional in the future as would be discussed here. On the one hand, although media online is developing rapidly around the world, people living in rural areas may still struggle to access internet coverage. Media online can only be used if it reaches a particular domain where the internet signal could reach. Therefore, internet accessibility might not be always available, especially when bad weather occurs. Otherwise, radio might remain its function to broadcast information to its audience because it does not depend on the internet coverage for broadcasting even though when bad weather or natural disaster occur. This can be exemplified by the fact that in an area where tsunami takes place, it might force an electrical authority to cut down its installation on the housing complex to avoid another accident like fire due to electrical fault and consequently, if the electricity is down, the internet coverage is hardly accessible. On the other hand, as radio invented in a previous era where the internet has not been even invented, it becomes the main device for broadcasting function to its audience. Some countries even rely on it when it comes to broadcasting official news. Therefore, they preserve its function until now, despite the development of the internet. In addition, some radio stations, whether belonging to the government or even private company took revolutionary actions by adopting functional feature into more advanced technology to adapt in this digital era as we can see from the BBC radio station whose website looks futuristic and provide some subtitles for its podcast. They took necessary adjustments to satisfy their audience. To sum up, although the internet is developing expansively and almost covers most areas in the world, there exist some issues regarding its signal coverage. By contrast, radio could cover almost all places around the world even in emergency period. Thus, it is evident that there will always be future for radio.