It is a common aspiration among many young people to run their own business, rather than work for an employer. Do you think the advantages of working for yourself outweigh the drawbacks?

Many young individuals are currently opening their own business instead of working for other employers. This tendency certainly has both benefits and drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, there are some advantages which could encourage young people to run their own business. Firstly, business owners can learn many useful things that can never be provided if they work for an employer. They will not only enhance their business-related skills such as marketing or sales, but they can also broaden their management abilities. For example, the manager of a company has to care about all the details like the financial status or his workers’ productivity. Secondly, people who start a business can freely make their own decisions without having to ask anyone for permission. This allows business owners to be more independent and decisive. Finally, because these individuals earn money for themselves, they are likely to have more incentive to work and generate values for the society. However, a few disadvantages should be carefully considered by young people if they want to start a business. When running a company, people might face some obstacles such as where to get the capital or how to attract customers. If they cannot come up with solutions for these difficulties, their business might die after a short period. Also, company owners must handle great responsibilities, so they could suffer from a lot of stress. Furthermore, if people work for an employer, they can learn from the better and more experienced individuals. When working for themselves, they barely get advice from anyone and might end up with failures. In conclusion, I personally believe that the benefits of opening business outweigh its drawbacks, and young individuals should be encouraged to do so.