Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Social media sites are considered to have destructive effects on our lives, either personally or as a community. In my opinion, social media has as many disadvantages as it does advantages, there is no scale to determine an extreme or certain deduction. Therefore, to decipher this new age invention, we must inspect every aspect of it. There is no doubt that these platforms have come with cons as well as pros. The number of teenagers committing suicide under the influence of fabricated lives of their peers is increasing every year which is concerning. The cyberbullying that happens on these mediums on a daily basis is another threatening trait that’s been affecting the youth’s mental health. Not to mention the misinformation that goes around in each network. However, we cannot incriminate social media for all of its negative outcomes, as if the media is not being run by human beings. To obtain a peaceful online environment, we need to root the actual issue that’s causing all the trouble, which in this case is us, humans. It would be hard to enumerate all the positive effects of social media, but one of the most important changes that social media has brought into our lives is inclusion. There has been a time in history, when social privileges, resolved whether or not a person’s ideas were worth being noticed. Nevertheless, social media was able to revolutionize that never-ending cycle of power and give every individual a platform to speak up and be heard. The social groups that were secluded in the past, are now remarked and respected. Therefore, many individuals who were then known as eccentrics and were discriminated against, are now the founders of the new social norms. In conclusion, social media is not innocent nor is it evil. I believe, we should optimize these sites by spreading the right type of information that will enlighten the users. We must capitalize on the positive side of online culture while help efface the dangerous results, altogether, with unity.