With the development of distance learning, it is now possible for virtually everybody to gain qualifications and degrees without physically attending any classes. Some people argue that this is very helpful while others say that it produces incompetent professionals.

Recently due to the advancement of distant learning, everybody can virtually attend classes and gain qualifications and degrees. Some people consider it a helpful tool while others are of the view that it results into insignificant professionals. I will be discussing both aspects in this essay along with my personal point of view. Most of the people appreciate the idea of distant learning which I also support. First of all, it provides the opportunity to upgrade academic credentials for those who cannot afford on campus studies because of fixed schedule which might not be feasible with their ongoing responsibilities such as jobs. Secondly, people who exceed the age limit cannot get admission in on campus programs, while distant learning projects encourage such students. Thirdly, it is highly cost effective in terms of time, travel and books. Most of the study material is in electronic format, furthermore, internet charges are minimal. Some people think that virtual learning cannot be compared to the physically attending class, as student tend to be more vigilant, focused and well evaluated by teachers as compared to distant learners. But that problem could be solved by upgrading attendance and evaluation policy for distant students. People also complain that it would affect professional standers. Most of the study programs have the requirement of internship without which degree is not awarded, hence this argument is also not very valid. In conclusion, I am sure that distant learning has improved literacy rate by supporting overage, busy and underprivileged people. People against this change are just flaunting lame excuses. All loopholes in this educational strategy can be addressed and sorted out.