With the advancement in transportation and technology, food can be imported from all over the world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Trade is thriving as transportation and technology advance, and numerous consumer products are transported across the globe. It has been noticed that food can be imported into many nations from various corners of the world. This tendency, like a coin with two sides, has its own set of merits and demerits. As far as I'm concerned, while this change may have some drawbacks, the benefits it provides much exceed the downsides. It is undoubted that the exchange of foodstuffs gives all people throughout the world the opportunity to enjoy all sorts of unique delicacies and fruits. Some specialty types of food are exclusively produced in specific regions, and importing them allows people from other countries to appreciate and consume them as well. For example, while kiwi fruit cannot be grown in Vietnam, commerce enables all Vietnamese to enjoy the fruit. Furthermore, this tendency helps the poor, developing countries to gain foreign exchange by selling their rare products to the rest of the globe. This eventually boosts the economies of such countries. Although this trend has various advantages, there still exist some noteworthy disadvantages. This import might be harmful to one's health. Because those commodities must be delivered across long distances, they are preserved using preservatives to extend their shelf life. These preservatives can be carcinogenic, which means they can cause diseases like cancer. As a result, it poses a risk to people's health. Furthermore, the purchasing country may lose its valuable currency to a foreign country, weakening its financial position. In conclusion, while eating imported food is not a healthy option, the availability of food throughout the year for the buyer nation and economic stability for the supplier nation are two critical positives that cannot be overlooked. However, the drawbacks of this tendency might be mitigated over time with the implementation of appropriate remedies.