With pressure on today's young people to succeed academically, some people belive that non academic subjects should be removed from the syllabus so that the children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

It is argued that school children are under tremendous pressure to perform well in academics, some believe that subjects like physical education and cookery should not be included in curriculum, as this helps children to concentrate more on their academics. I completely disagree with the statement because students get to learn better skills in co-curricular activities and this helps them to stay fit and healthy. Firstly, young children always are inquisitive to learn new skills and energetic to perform physical activities. This extra curricular subjects teaches children to develop it. Additionaly, it is said that younger children have a good cognitive power to learn new things that would allow them to be more focused on work they perform and eases them to wisely take decisions. For example, learning how to cook in younger ages would help children to disclose their talents, and this gives an oppurtunity to choose their desired profession in future if they are really good at it. Secondly, developing physical fitness is an essential part for the well-being of the child, which is conducive to developing confidence and social skills in them. However, most of the children these days are doing less activities. In fact, even parents nowadays do not really find time to look after their child's health. For instance, studies show that children are becoming obese at younger age due to lack of exercise and having sedentary lifestyle. I, therefore, believe it is mandatory to provide physical education course for all the children in schools, which might help children to be more healthier. In conclusion, although academic subjects are equally important, I think, having taught extra curricular subjects will eventually keep children mind focused and learn better life skills.