In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

There is an inevitable issue of taking care of parents when they become old, and one of the option is to send them to special house for old and disable people. But question is whether the government should pay for their stay or old people’s family. I think it is both and this essay will support this idea. On one hand, the government of any country tries to provide social responsibility throughout medical, educational and other type of support for their citizens. The higher level of living in a country, the more support they provide. For example, 60+ age citizens of majority of European Union countries feel quite confident to spend good money for leisure like traveling. The size of their pensions let them live full life. The additional existence of old people care institutions and ability to cover bills of our grand parents’ stay in special ‘medical centres for old people’ show how caring the government is. On the other hand, decision to go to nursing home is always made by an individual or by his or her family. To me that means that people are still responsible for their father or mother but decided to let them live in special place with same age people and medical care. And once the decision is made they should continue visiting them, be sure their meal is appropriate, help them with covering all financial needs. Good example is nursing homes in Luxemburg where clients should pay all their pensions for staying, but in return they have accommodation conditions and menu comparing to 4-5 stars hotel. To conclude, unfortunately we can’t escape the situation of older parents. But once we decide to let them live in nursing home, we have to continue covering at least a part of expenses for their stay.