Young people in wealthier countries often take a ‘gap year’ between high school and university in order to spend time travelling abroad. This in an excellent way for teenagers to prepare for their future lives.

Nowadays, it becomes increasingly common for young people in the developed countries to take a year off between high school and university. Despite some reservations, I tend to agree of the statement. There are several advantages of taking a year off for traveling. Firstly, international travel can broaden the mind. If students travel overseas, they will expose to a variety of different cultures and this experience might help them in their future studies as they will gain knowledge of the world and of the people who inhabit it. Secondly, ‘backpacking’ teaches young people to become more independent adults. Travellers will have to cope with a variety of new challenging situations. Furthermore, they will have to use their initiative to solve problems rather than relying on their parents or other adults to assist them. On the other hand, there are number of positive points associated with this issue. in this first place, young people who take a year off and travel to strange countries might expose themselves to danger. At the age of 18 and 19, people may not yet possess the necessary life skills required to survive in a hostile or challenging overseas environment. They may have taken advantage of unscrupulous local people who rely on their lack of experience for tricking them. Another disadvantage is that someone who intends to travel for only a year before start university may find it quite difficult to readjust to the structured life of full-time study after a year of exciting foreign adventures. Indeed, people might entirely abandon the idea of returning to their studies thus jeopardizing their chances of success later in life. In summary, there are number of advantages or disadvantages of taking a year off to travel overseas. However, it seems that benefits of experiencing a variety of cultures and becoming more self-reliant through traveling outweigh the possible disadvantages.