Some people think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. with this opinion?

Motivation is one of the most required managing skills in any successful companies. While some employers consider paying according to the amount of production and selling as the only way to achieve workers satisfaction, I strongly believe it would be unfeasible as not all factors of companies’ success or failure correlate to workers productivity. Employee’s satisfaction is main concern in any workplace, while I concede that if wage is quantified by the amount of work done by employees, it would push people to work more and fast which is highly beneficial for a company. However, not all performances can be assessed by how much people produce or sell. For example, Workers’ job in teaching and healthcare industries is not only gain and practice (which means produce and sell) their knowledge but emotionally support which can not be always financially valued. In this case, it is the patients or students’ satisfaction with the aspect of their performance such as intelligence and punctuality that illustrates the workers productivity. Furthermore, the productivity of workers can be affected beyond their control. Political condition or weather in that country can have a huge impact on workforce. For example, setting a limit by government on the amount of alcohol production can lead to minimize the demand for this type of beverage. As a result, without workers being responsible for reduction in demand they have to produce less which consequently causes decrease in their salaries. Basing wages on the sales or production can serve as demotivation in such cases. In conclusion, I think basing wages solely on the rate of production or sales can be unfair and uninspiring strategy of managing. Instead, employers should evaluate a set of performance indicators including intelligence, punctuality and so on.