Governments in many countries are urgently seeking ways to reduce unemployment in rural areas. What are the most effective ways to do this? Which measure do you think would be the single most effective step that governments could take?

The topic of reducing unemployment rate in rural area is still widely debated nowadays and many governments are urgently seeking ways to decrease the overall rate. Personally, I feel that improve education level is the most effective measure that governments could take, although there are several supplementary methods too. Regarding the most effective way in controlling unemployment rate in rural area, evidence suggests that the rate will drop significantly if the education level can be improved. For instance, the general education level is primary school for rustic people in China. Conversely, the average education level is college or university for urban residences. Therefore, there are less job opportunities for rural community if they compete with people from urban area in the labour market. The government should invest in enhancing and developing the educational facilities in rural areas and ensure that all the children can attend middle schools. Besides, governments should provide financial supports to poverty families and reduce the tuition fee. When compared to other tactics, there is little doubt that a higher education level is the most effective way to minimize the unemployment rate in rural area. Turning to other methods, the government should provide more job opportunities to unskilled workers in rural area. For example, most of the factories are built near the countryside, and they need assembly line workers to build products. The governments should encourage the companies to hire more workers from rural area and provide associate trainings. In addition, the governments can motivate the companies to hire workers aged around 40 to 50. Moreover, governments should educate the parents in rural area that how education can change one’s life. Based on the fact that most rustic children are told to farm or raise animals instead of studying. The governments have the responsibilities to ensure that all children have a fairness and supportive environment to study. Overall, I feel that the education level is the key factor that can reduce the rural unemployment rate. The effectiveness can be maximized by more job openings to unskilled workers and support from parents.