with arise in popularity of the internet newspapers will soon become a thing of the past

Almost every country in the world has one or more historical buildings, which are protected by the regulations of the law. While some people argue that these buildings should be demolished and replaced with new buildings for the growth of the nation, I believe that they should be maintained because they are not a hurdle in the path to economic growth. Rather, they are a source of revenue and knowledge. Heritage buildings play a significant role in enhancing our knowledge about the historical events occurred in the country. This is because many of these constructions are related to either revolutions recorded in history or the way our ancestors used to live their life. By teaching about these buildings, teachers can instil in their students a sense of patriotism and pride in their heritage. For instance, the Gandhi Ashram at Ahmedabad played a vital role in our freedom struggle against the British. When people visit this Ashram, they will learn more about India’s struggle for independence and appreciate the value of freedom. On the other hand, there is an argument that old buildings are obstacles to the progress of the country as they do not fit into the plan of modern cities. However, as per the data published by UNESCO, tourism is one of the booming industries and historical buildings are one of the most visited places in the world. Hence, many governments are promoting these historical places to attract tourists from foreign countries. For example, the campaign Incredible India features historical buildings like Taj Mahal and Red Fort in their promotions, as these buildings are some of the most attractive tourist destinations. Hence, by promoting these monuments, authorities can increase the influx of tourists and thus earn valuable foreign exchange. In conclusion, despite the argument that historical buildings should make way for new constructions, I firmly believe that these could come at the cost of destroying our history and heritage. Hence, in my opinion, these buildings need to be protected as they represent our heritage and earn revenue for the government.