with an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging , face to face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree?

My grandfather was complaining to me the other day about how young people use their cellphones every day rather than talking to family members in person. His complaint has brought me to think about whether in-person communications will become less common. In my opinion, although applying the internet results in face-to-face interactions less attractive for the young generation, in-person communications will not be completely disapear. On the one hand, by taking advantage of the internet, communicating personally among the young generation is not mandatorly requisite. As millennials who grew up using the internet were taught how to apply mobile devices to interact with others, utilizing mobile devices is fundamental to the young generation. Meanwhile, the internet has brought tremendous convenience to young people’s social interactions. While the young generation can have video chats with their family members and friends who live far, face-to-face communications are restricted with proper time and locations. Besides, many mobile devices offer free chatting applications with appealing characters, such as iPhone’s Emoji, which attracts more youngsters to interact virtually. On the other hand, communicating face-to-face will not entirely disappear. Many senior citizens are not familiar with the internet. Instead, interacting personally with peers is still the most common way for old people. If face-to-face communication is completely replaced by the internet and text messages, the elders need to learn how to use mobile devices. Since learning new technology can be complicated and be time wasting for many senior residents, in-person communication is more convenient. Moreover, personal conversations are considered as a sincere and polite manner in some cultures. Therefore, completely replacing face-to-face communication with the internet might not be occur in a short term. In conclusion, despite the internet has become essential and unnecessary for millennials to communicate with their peers, face-to-face interactions cannot be entirely replaced for the elders.