With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become thing of the past To what extend do you agree?

My grandfather was complaining to me the other about how young people use their cellphones every day rather than talking to family members in person. His complaint has brought me to think about whether in-person communications will become less common. In my opinion, although utilizing the internet makes face-to-face interactions unnecessary to the young generation, in-person communications will still popular for the elder. On the one hand, by taking advantage of the internet, communicating personally among the young generation is not requisite. As millennials who grew up using the internet were taught how to apply mobile devices to interact with others, utilizing mobile devices is fundamental to the young generation. Meanwhile, the internet has brought tremendous convenience to young people’s social interactions. While the young generation can have video chats with their family members and friends who live far, face-to-face communications are restricted with proper time and locations. Besides, many mobile devices offer free chatting applications with appealing characters, such as iPhone’s Emoji, which attracts more youngsters to interact virtually. On the other hand, communicating face-to-face will not disappear among the elder generation. Many senior citizens are not familiar with the internet. Instead, interacting personally with peers is the most common way for old people. If face-to-face communication is completely replaced by the internet and text messages, the elders need to learn how to use mobile devices. Since learning new technology can be complicated and be time wasting for many senior residents, in-person communication is more convenient. Moreover, personal conversations are considered more sincere and polite to the old generation. In conclusion, despite the internet has become essential and unnecessary for millennials to communicate with their peers, face-to-face interactions cannot be entirely replaced for the elders.