With an increasing population communicating via internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past.

It’s common for today’s generation to spend most of their time at home on internet rather than going out and meeting friends. With most people enjoying this virtual world of communication, the need of interacting personally seems to fade out. I completely agree that the increased use of social media and cellphones have eliminated the urge of meeting people. In the pre internet era the only ways to interact were, either going to each other’s places or making telephonic calls, both of these were two-way communication and consumed ample time. With today’s wireless connectivity one can stay connected with a lot of people in relatively very less time. Take social media for an example; it keeps us updated with all the major events happening in the lives of the people we know. We no longer need to call and inquire the wellbeing of our friends instead their Facebook statuses serve the purpose. Networking is all about having virtual presence on applications such as Facebook, Wotsapp and Instagram, while leaving meeting each other personally far behind. Another reason why virtual communication has over-shadowed face to face interactions is that you don’t need other person's availability, you just send a message and the receiver can answer as per his comfort. Additionally, if you are short of time you can just send a voice note instead of written message hence making communication simple and easy. For instance, you can just drop a message to a friend even while being on your way to the office, this has made texting applications all-time favorite for people who have a busy schedule. Hence, this has made life much more convenient interms of communication whilst we already complain about being short of time for almost everything. With all this technological upgradation transforming almost all type of interaction, yes communicating face to face is the past thing as people are able to stay connected to all their acquaintances via social media and cellphones.