Parents are often over-anxious to teach their children to speak. If children are ‘slow-developers’ parents often allow psychologists and schools to intervene and provide their children speech therapy. Do you think children develop at different rates and so should be left to themselves to acquire language skills, or, is such intervention justified?

Parents are usually over desperate to make their offsprings learn to speak. However, if their wards are slower than their expectations then they mostly put the intervention of psychologists and schools to make their children learn speaking with the help of speech therapy. In my point of view such intervention is sometimes beneficial but it depends on the development rate of children. So I partially agree with this intervention. Both the views are discussed below in the subsequent divisions. To begin with the benefits of speech therapy, a small child is unable to tell his parents that whether he is actually having difficulty in speaking or he is just takin much time to speak. Therefore, if the child is taking more time than the expected time for a child to speak, then, such therapy is very beneficial as it can help the child to overcome the difficulty of speaking. However, if the baby is not given this therapy and he is really not able to speak, then, it will cause problem for him in future as he will be unable to get treated after few years. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of this intervention. It is not always the case that children are unable to speak because they have some medical problem. Sometimes, children are just slow to develop their skills of speech as every child has distinct level and it depends on their level that when they start speaking. Moreover, making a child learn to speak faster than his actual capability is not a wise decision of his parents as it is just like forcing him to put more potential in speech than he has. So, a child should be left on his own to learn language skill. To recapitulate, it is not always necessary for parents to give training to their ward for learning language acumen. Nevertheless, there are some situations in which speech therapy by psychologists or educational institutes is helpful.