with a growing population many people believe that we should focus on producing more genetically modified food. will this have constructive or destructive consequences?

Genetic engineering has become increasingly popular in this modern era. With the rapid rise in the population, numerous individuals believe that we should draw our attention to cultivate more genetically modified crops. I completely agree with this as it helps in increasing farm produce; reduces the use of pesticides, insecticides and are more nutritious as well. Firstly, genetic alterations can enhance the crop yield by many folds. The crops are modified in such a way that they make effective use of the nitrogen present in the soil and are tolerant to droughts, heat, salinity and famines as well. This in turn, improves the quantity of the harvest which not only benefit the cultivators but also can be used to feed the soaring population. To exemplify, in 1971, recombinant gene technology has bought a tremendous change in the cultivation of wheat by introducing techniques for transferring genes, such as those responsible for mass production, to our desires that boosted its production. Secondly, use of pesticides and insecticides is reduced. The biogenetic plants develop natural resistance to the helminths and insects that attacks them, the latter being killed. Consequently, leading to less use of harmful chemicals sprayed over the fields that save cost and prevents harmful chemicals from entering the food chain and eventually, our digestive tracts. To illustrate, As Bt-cotton developed genetically is resistant to the pests, such as cotton bollworms and plethora of dipterans so there is no use of sprinkling of pesticides on them. Thirdly, the vegetation grown increase the nutritional value. Biofortified crops are grown through conventional and agronomic practices; reduces the micronutrient deficiencies, enrich crops with all the essential amino acids, thereby upgrading the nutrient status of food supply. To exemplify, staple food for most north is rice that earlier lacked in vitamin A content. To raise its standards, beta carotene gene was introduced to increase the retinol content in the grain that succesfully met its objectives. To conclude, indubitably, genetic moderations is a better approach towards food security for future, not only will it ensures the crop abundance with less use of toxicants but supplements the reap with many nutritional benefits as well.