globalization some argue english

Globalization has helped in connecting all of the people around the world but this has also made it crucial for everyone to be able to communicate in English as it is one of the most spoken languages in the world. Due to this, many suggest that it should be made mandatory for all the schools to teach this language. Others, however, argue that this can damage the culture of numerous communities. In this essay, I will discuss both the views along with the reason why I believe that teaching English can have great benefits. Those who oppose the idea of making English a compulsory subject believe that this could cause huge cultural loss. When the schools start giving more importance to a foreign language then the pupils might become ignorant towards their own mother tongue. In the long run, this could lead to complete disappearance of people who speak that language and therefore, their culture will face a huge loss. This issue, however, can be resolved easily by making the subject of local languages mandatory as well. Those in favor of teaching this language have significant points to make. First of all, being able to communicate in English will open more job opportunities for everyone. Since many multinational companies have clients from different places of the word, they only employ those who can speak English fluently. In other words, MNCs prefer to employ only those people who have a good understanding of English. Additionally, knowing this language can make things easier for frequent travelers as well. Most of the countries generally have their own local language due to which travelling to a foreign country could seem hard if one does not speak any languages other than their mother tongue. Now, since English is the most spoken language therefore this solves all the issues regarding language barrier as this can be used to communicate in any and every nation around the world. In conclusion, although a fraction of people worry that learning English might affect their culture in a negative way, they fail to realize that it has more significant benefits and the other problems can be resolved very easily. Therefore, I believe that English should be taught compulsorily in all the schools.