Shopping stores should be kept open 24/7. What could be the advantages and disadvantages of this development? Give your opinion.

These days, many stores serve people round the clock. This is a positive development which provides a plethora of benefits to the customers, the workforce and the businesses themselves. On the other hand it can also become a major cause of crimes and other illegal activities. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of 24/7 shops. To begin with, there are many compelling reasons to believe that 24/7 retail stores provide many benefits. Primarily, people can get food and other essential items whenever they want. This makes their lifestyle better and healthier because many food outlets offer healthy and scrumptious meals at the same price throughout the day. This is a blessing for busy professionals who often work odd hours. When retail stores also remain open 24 hours a day 7 days a week, they can serve people working in night shifts better. On the flip side, there could be number of security issues while working at night. Most cases of stealing and violence are committed in the darkness of night and majority of the employees are unable to defend themselves which make them an easy target. In some cases workers become the culprit himself as they try to fool customers by not providing them with bill and keeping their money. This can cause havoc to the reputation of the business and can ultimately cause in closing of the store. In conclusion, when shops remain open throughout the day, they benefit the community, but strict actions and awareness is required for the security of customers and workers. Steps should be taken to prevent any kind of fraud and burglary to provide a safe environment for the business and coustomers.