With a growing population many people believe that we should focus on more GM foods What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this

The scarcity of food supply is becoming apparent, so some genetics scientists suggest solving this problem with altered DNA. This essay will consider the benefits and drawbacks of this kind of food. Let us begin with merits of food with modified genetic structure. The first advantage is that it is resistant to both illnesses and pesticides. Many vegetables and fruits perish in large numbers because of various diseases as well as unwanted insects, but genetically altered crops are immune to many infections and have an unattractive smell for pesticides. Another benefit is that It is relatively more fruitful. Crops with modified genes can grow faster and bigger than traditional ones, so more people can feed on them. Furthermore, It can thrive in dry areas. Due to its ability to consume on small amounts of water, this kind of vegetation can flourish, for example, either in desserts or in mountains. Despite the above mentioned benefits, genetically modified food has many drawbacks. First of all, it may cause some serious disorders. Food with generic modification has allegedly resulted in a few cases of cancer, but health care organization has not acknowledged these incidents. Secondly, altered crops has some negative effects on the ecosystem. When it penetrates into the soil as a result of waste, it usually poisons trees and small animals. Finally, it is hardly possible to find traditional food in large markets. Genetically modified food is prevailing in the market thanks to its low price and making the sale of conventional food unprofitable; therefore, if one wants to buy unaltered vegetables, they have to address private gardeners. In conclusion, genetically altered food has both positive and negative sides.