Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources

It is argued that nowadays defending wild animals is a waste of resources and there is no place for them. I completely disagree with this point of view. First of all, wild animals play a big role in the ecosystem. Without wild animals, the ecosystem will be spoiled. Consequently, we will lose many more animals or plants. In this world all alive are connected to each other so the loss of one of them will lead to the destruction of the ecosystem. Secondly, they destroy sick animals and regulate the number of animals. This is very helpful in clearing the land of unnecessary animals. For instance, the wolves eat the sick rodents. Furthermore, people sometimes use wild animals for medicine. This means that they are also useful for people because nowadays people really need a lot of medicines to avoid getting sick. For example, the horn of the rhinoceros has medicinal value. In conclusion, the protection of wild animals in the 21st century is not a waste of resources because of their importance. Also, I believe that we should do everything we can to protect them.