Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life.

Some people hold the view that history has not benefits for contemporary life, whereas others argue that past can learn people to understand human’s life. This essay agrees that history is a useful source of information for present life. This essay will discuss both points of view. On the one hand, we need to appreciate our history because it plays great role in our life. Firstly, history aids young people to understand their own culture. Since today's generation forgets about the culture of their nation, they must study the life of our ancestors, read historical books about their countries and all this leads to the fact that they must know the history. Another point to consider is that, history awakens a sense of patriot in a person. By reading many events that have happened in history, a person begins to love his country more than he does. For instance, we can recall the Second World War. I am sure that the heroism of our ancestors and how they sacrificed themselves for the sake of the country awakens a sense of patriotism. On the other hand, there is an opinion that history cannot teach us anything. People who support this idea think that we should not think about the past we should move on and achieve success in the future. What was a long time ago is not useful to us because it will not change our lives, therefore we need to think about the future that can really alter our lives to the good side. Now is a very different life compared to the past. In the 21st century, everyone is developed, so history cannot teach anything, however we must remember that a country without a history is not a country, and a person who does not know his own history cannot consider himself a person of this country. In conclusion, today people are only developing in everything and for this history is not needed but history teaches us to moral values like patriotism, knowledge.