Some people believe that using a bicycle as your main form of transport has a lot of advantages whereas others think it has many disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many consider that there are a lot of benefits in riding a bike while others think that there are many drawbacks. In my view, I think that there are more pros than cons. Firstly, this essay will discuss the value of using a bicycle and secondly, the detrimental effects of bike riding. On the one hand, the main advantage of using a bike as your main mode of transportation is that it is very good exercise. It is known to be a great way to burn calories, as well as toning your muscles. This way of travelling can not only be environmentally friendly but help people to maintain a healthy lifestyle in order to have consistent exercise during the day. For instance, an article by Health First Magazine in 2016 revealed that daily bike riding is one of the ways health trainers promote shedding excess pounds. On the other hand, the primary disadvantage of cycling is that it can be dangerous at times. Cyclists often forget to use protective garments that can shield them during unfortunate accidents and as a result, they receive severe injuries. Since cyclists can easily make their way through busy streets they are more prone to causing road accidents because some drivers may not see them. For example, a study by the Manila Traffic Bureau in 2014 reported that 50% of road accidents in Manila involved an altercation between a cyclist and a driver. In my opinion, I believe that riding a bike has its own set of benefits. Owning a bicycle can help to protect the environment for there are no carbon emissions produced when riding it. Bicycles offer an environmentally friendly way of getting around. For instance, a study by the World Wildlife Fund in 2015 revealed that if most people chose to ride a bike while going to work, this could decrease air pollutants by almost 50%. In conclusion, bike riding definitely has its advantages. Many people should own a bike for this is an effective way to improving one’s health and at the same time can assist in protecting the environment.