Advantages and disadvantages of homeschooling

There has been an increasing number of parents opting to home school their children in recent years. In my opinion, the benefits of homeschooling are eclipsed by its drawbacks in the sense that financial strain, children's social development. To begin with, the most crucial point to make in favour of homeschooling is that parents could opt for flexible curriculum and pacing. In a homeschool setting, the things taught are completely controlled and administered. That means, parents could slow down until their child masters the concept or skip over not that important reading lesson. For example, homeschooling curriculum is designed to gradually permit children to figure out what works best for them such as starting their day with a challenging subject while their mind is still fresh, or they may choose to spend an entire day focusing on a skill that is difficult until they have mastered the content of their lesson. On the other hand, there is ample evidence that homeschooling has an adverse impact on the independent ability of children and financial strain. In terms of financial strain, it is true that parents might have trouble sustaining the household and ensuring the needs of the family are met, since at least one parent remains at home to homeschool their children. Take middle-class parents for example, the loss of a household income very often translates into serious financial strain in both the immediate and far future. What's more, homeschooled children could develop a deep dependence on their parents, rather than spending time among their peers and around other adults. This can often result in the children being ill-prepared to be taken away from parents and face a range of challenges. For instance, some homeschooling parents want to protect their children from bullying and abuse, and tend to shy away from becoming involved with other students and parents. While it is true that homeschooling affords the child better protection that would be possible in a public school, this deprives their children of the ability to learn to handle problems, which are needed skills as venture into the "outside" world. In conclusion, the benefits of homeschooling are overshadowed by the disadvantages of financial pressure and the development of over-dependence of children.