Why the road increase traffic?

Traffic is one of the big problems of most mega cities in the world because of some reasons. First, large roads have encouraged people to drive more. In fact, as big cities such as capital or industry center, the authorities have built roads as large as possible due to the huge of transportation. For example, people usually go to work, and they need to have a transport. As the road is wider, people tend to buy more car. Second, empty space on the roads have been used for public places. In particular, in my country, there are many people who sale the stuffs such as foods, souvenirs, clothes, etc. on the roads. Therefore, a part of these roads has been taken for years by personal business. Consequently, nowadays, road surface is narrower than the past. In addition, the government have added parking lots on these streets since the number of the car have increased for years. In conclusion, roads have increased traffic jam since many years for two above reasons. If the authorities do not have the effective solutions, this problem will be more serious in the future.