Charles Green life is short

Charles Green (26 December 1919 – 1 November 1950) was an Australian Militia officer who volunteered for overseas service at the start of World War II. He fought in Greece in 1941 and returned to Australia in 1942. From March to July 1945, Green commanded the 2/11th Battalion during the Aitape–Wewak campaign in New Guinea, becoming the youngest Australian infantry battalion commander. For his performance during the campaign, Green was made a Companion of the Distinguished Service Order. He later commanded the 3rd Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment (RAR), during the Korean War. The battalion joined UN forces and advanced into North Korea, fighting in the Battles of the Apple Orchard, the Broken Bridge, and Chongju. On 30 October 1950, Green was wounded in the stomach by a shell fragment. Evacuated to hospital, he died of his wounds two days later, aged 30, and was subsequently awarded the US Silver Star. He remains the only commanding officer of a RAR battalion to die on active service.