Why Students Should Be Free To Choose Their Own Subject

As Vietnamese students, we have a lot of compulsory subjects to learn with no freedom to choose what to study and it is stressing the students out everyday. This essay will debate why students should have the right to decide what they want to study. On the one hand, not all subjects we study at school will come in handy in our future jobs or in daily life. There is a very broad spectrum of careers in a community, each of them requires a different set of skills and experiences but not all professions ask you to be good at maths or can distinguish chemical substances based on their colors. As Huffington Post columnist Blake Boles quote: "Real learning thrives when students have real choices. Give high school students the same freedom as college students, and we'll take education a step in the right direction. ", it is counted as an encouragement which will interest students into studying more if you let them choose subjects as they desire. On the other hand, people tend to argue that the students need to study all of the subjects because they are still young so they cannot be certain of their future study field. Part of their words are right, high schoolers are not adults yet so they can sometimes be lost while deciding what they want to focus on in the future but because they are young, they are allowed to make mistakes. When choosing what they want to do, students must take into account that their choices will greatly affect their future workplace. Alongside encouraging high schoolers to make their own choices and take responsibility for their actions, the school should also guide them to help those who are unsure what they want to do for a living. Parents shouldn’t pressure their children about grades or comparing them with other kids, they should let their child be free to live their life to some extents.