Tourism today creates a variety of problems

Nowadays, environmental issues caused both by tourists and tourism-related activities have become so grave that many people insist on imposing hefty taxes on air travel and hotels for the sake of restricting the tourist inflow. I, however, disagree with this notion and believe that the authority should find better measures to address this rather than limiting the tourism industry with the burden of extra tax. The key reason why I believe that governments ought to avoid levying more taxes on flights and accommodations is that tourism creates employment for local people and make economic movements in the region. It also brings significant foreign remittance to the country. Many countries, St. Lucia, Maldives and Thailand, for example, heavily depend on the steady earning their tourism sector brings for them. It also makes people tolerant of different cultures and let them learn about diverse cultures and traditions. If more taxes are imposed on the movement and accommodation of tourists, it would bring catastrophic results for many countries. Therefore, measures which would entail a decline in tourists should not be implemented. To control pollution and excessive wastages, authorities can employ workers to clean their surroundings while instructing visitors not to pollute the environment. Policies to improve the manners of tourists while staying in a foreign country should be implemented. Improving public buses and dedicating transports for tourists can reduce traffic congestions to a great extent. Moreover, scientific research and engineering feats can reduce the pollution created by vehicles and aeroplanes to a great extend and money should be spent on such research works. These solutions would improve the situation on the one hand, and not deprive citizens of jobs and economic freedom on the other hand. To conclude, extra levies on tourist transportation and accommodation will limit the inflow of tourists, putting local citizen’s livelihoods at risk, especially in tourism-dependant countries. It is expected that the authorities would find better solutions that try to control tourists’ actions in travel destinations instead of reducing their number and employ more people and technology to solve the problem.