Why should education not be free? In today's world, education costs are rising faster than the inflation rate—many of the most brilliant minds are from low-income households. Nobody should be stopped from learning because they can't afford education. Education is a fundamental right for anyone to survive. The concept of free education is undergoing a revolution. It promotes equality, increases employment opportunities and helps reduce the crime rate. It is an essential tool for economic development and impacts society overall positively. Yet, some people may argue the concept of free education because the tax rate of individuals increases.

Can education remove the barriers of inequality? Different kinds of disparities exist in Indian society; we witness rampant poverty, illiteracy, huge urban-rural divide, gender-based discrimination and violence, regional inequality, among other forms of deprivation. Moreover, a considerable part of the Indian population can still not provide adequate education to their children due to financial constraint. And thereby, free education is a vital factor in reducing the inequality barriers. As an illustration, how can free education help implement equality in society? There is free education in Norway, and the literacy rate is 100%. There is no free education in Italy; the literacy rate is overall - 99. 16%, Male - 99. 35% and female - 98. 97%. Hence, it’s evident that gender equality is achieved only by a high literacy rate. There is no free education in India; the literacy rate is 74%, Male - 82. 1% and Female 65. 5% (Source - census 2011). As literacy is comparatively low, there is a disparity in the males and females' literacy rate. Free education system helps improve literacy rate, leading to developing the student’s understanding ability, improves skills they require to be employed and helps them to become productive members of society. Hence, it leads to equality. (Note: The data above talks about gender-based equality in literacy rate) Can free education improve the current situation of unemployment in India? Unemployment is a serious issue faced by our country. According to the data released by CMIE, the unemployment rate of the uneducated 0. 9% in January to 18. 7% in March. Education provides job opportunities to more people (Source- CMIE). Therefore, it helps to reduce the rate of unemployment in the country. About the statistics of the OECD countries (Source - OECD), people with at least a tertiary level of education have better job prospects. For example, people who have earned a doctorate tend to be paid higher than those whose highest academic study is a high school. It is clear that people with less education tend to account for a higher percentage of the unemployment rate than those with education, and better-educated countries innovate and grow faster than other countries. As discussed, if education in India is given free, more people can acquire a job; in another way, it increases the total average income, leading to growth. Consider that a country's economy becomes more productive as the proportion of educated workers increases since educated workers can be more efficient. As an illustration, a study conducted in Spain shows us that a 10% increase in Secondary education can boost economic growth by 1. 5%. In comparison, an increase of 10% in tertiary education increases economic growth by 0. 9 per cent. Some people disapprove of education being free. Is free education indeed free? First of all, It is a well-known truth that there is no such thing as free education. “Everything comes at a price, ” Paullina Simons said. Who is going to pay for free education? If you think the government pays for it, you are partially correct because it is responsible for collecting money from the public in taxes. Accordingly, taxpayers have to pay cumulatively increased taxes while the income remains stable, reducing people’s disposable income. As an illustration, Germany, a top nation in providing free education, was achievable mainly due to their high rate of taxation on education. Did you know that the highest tax slab in Germany is 45%? (Source - expatica. com). Germany GDP is 3. 86 lakh crores USD (2019), whereas Indian GDP is 2. 87 lakh crores USD (2019) (Source - World Bank). And India’s highest tax slab rate is 30% for those who earn beyond Rs. 15 lakhs per year (Source - Canara HSBC life). Some people object to a free education because they are afraid of paying higher income tax. Introducing a new tax slab by an additional 15% won’t affect the common public because 90% of India’s population are at the bottom level and hold only 25. 7% of national wealth. The new tax slab will be laid on India’s top 10% of the population, representing 74. 3% of the total national wealth (Oxfam Report). There are enormous reasons why education should be free in India? The female literacy rate in India is 65. 5%. A better-educated workforce would be a boon to the Indian economy and, at the same time, increase tax revenues. Some upsides are it reduces inequality, unemployment, and crime. Free education is achievable only due to the high rate of taxation. Therefore, we recommend rerouting the funds to educational activities and Introducing another tax slab by an additional 15%. Hence, we would like to conclude that GDP allocated to free education should be considered a profitable investment but not an expense. If implemented in the next ten years, India could achieve a 100% literacy rate. References: https: //www. worldatlas. com/articles/the-highest-literacy-rates-in-the-world. html https: //countryeconomy. com/demography/literacy-rate/italy https: //www. worldbank. org/en/home https: //www. expatica. com/de/finance/taxes/income-taxes-in-germany-108112/ https: //www. canarahsbclife. com/tax-university/articles/income-tax-slab-for-fy-2021-22. html https: //www. oecd. org/germany/EAG2012%20-%20Country%20note%20-%20Germany. pdf