Why should customers care about their right to repair?

The right to repair is an important topic for customers, especially as advances in technology continue to make our products less repairable. This right allows the customer to diagnose and fix any problems with their own devices, which means they are able to save money on costly repairs and avoid passing potentially dangerous products along through the cracks. Repairing cell phones used to be easy for customers because most of them were made from single components that could easily be replaced or upgraded. But today, most cell phone screens are made with glass panels that are difficult to replace, which means that the only way to fix a broken screen is by sending it back for an expensive replacement. Wanting repairs done quickly and cheaply is understandable, especially when someone trades in an old phone for a new one. This can be frustrating for customers who want to fix their own phones. Repairing more complex electronics requires some technical expertise, but the trend of making hardware close to impossible to repair only benefits manufacturers financially. It seems like cell phones are getting better and better each year. But that does not mean it is any easier to repair them. In many cases, customers can not even take their phones in for repairs because their carrier will not allow it. This leaves these customers with a decision: keep the manufacturing company happy by paying for a new device or rely on shady third-party repair services, which are often paid for by manufacturers or retailers. Of course, getting your phone fixed is a big deal and something you should try to do as often as possible with the help of reputable repair companies. Customers care about the right to repair, especially as technological improvements make items less repairable. This privilege enables the consumer to diagnose and repair any problems with their own gadgets, allowing them to save money on costly repairs and avoid passing potentially unsafe products through the gaps. Customers who want to fix their own phones may find this frustrating.