why people should care about luxurious goods and animals?

The evidences of the book Do Android Dream of Electric Sheep? and Indonesian news provided in the findings section has its correlations. The evidences lead to hypothesis that people nowadays and society described in the Philip’s book use luxurious animals and goods to measure their social ranks. Therefore they compete and willing to do anything for it, even families. But the question is why they should do it? . In the book, Rick Deckard’s behaviours confirms that he is selfish and greedy for fancy animals just to impress his neighbours. Hence, he killed the Nexus-6 androids in order to afford a real animal. It is clearly indicate that Rick Deckard does not care how can he afford his desirable pet, what matter is to buy it as form the social standpoint it has to be done. It means that Rick Deckard indeed attempts to follow the standards. Over here in Indonesia we can see the same points as written in the Philip Dick’s book, it is about the consumerism and competition in the community. There is considerable celebrities, socialites and elites who have a desire of owning fancy things and exotic pets (Pasha, 2019). This is proven by the news and references provided in the findings session whereby there is a trend and standard created among them to possess luxurious stuff and pets. Some are more than willing to do anything so that they can follow the trends and social standard including stealing (Beers, 2020).