People have many different opinions about how the national authorities should measure their countries’ progress. While I agree that economic progress is seen as a fundamental goal for governments, I believe that social services like medical care and schooling programs are just as important.

On the one hand, I support the idea that economic growth is one of the governments’ crucial targes for several reasons. Firstly, economic progress will help the authorities to allocate a larger amount of money to social security. For example, a government with higher revenues can invest a great deal of national budgets in the country's education system and hospitals. Secondly, a healthy economy will contribute to a lower unemployment rate and many high-paying jobs for all citizens. Finally, a strong economy can help a country’s standing on the global stage, in terms of its political influence and trading power. On the other hand, I believe that social services such as health care and education are just as significant as the economic factors mentioned above. To put it another way, a government is created by the taxes from valuable workforces of their country. Therefore, the state has the responsibility to offer them free health care facilities and education programs. Additionally, the benefit of improving the medical services and the education system is that this would produce good citizens. If a country has many well-educated and healthy residents, it will bring some benefits to the government, especially the economic prosperity. In conclusion, while I believe that economic growth is one of the Governments’ primary goals, I support the idea that education and health criteria are equally significant.