Why people like to travel to the places where conditions are difficult. State advantages and Disadvantages

I am myself a travel lover. I have been to many places, I have visited sahara desert in the past where the conditions are difficult. From a very long time I am planning to visit Sahara desert again. There are a lot of people who love to travel to the places where the conditions are difficult because it is adventurous. People travel to these kind of places to test themselves, whether they can survive the extreme conditions. People who love adventures always want to push the conditions to the extreme level. 2 years back I have been to Sahara desert, but I did not survived even for a day as I haven't performed any research and did not work on any skills to face the extreme conditions. But now, I have been researching and preparing how to survive in the places where the conditions are difficult. Now I have much more knowledge and I have mastered many skills which will help me surviving the conditions. Advantage: Visiting to the places with extreme conditions will help you to improve your surviving skills and make you feel confident about yourself. This positiveness will reflect in your day to day life too. Disadvantage: People visit to these kind of places with excitement and don't do much research before visting the place. One should perform a detailed research before visiting these places. Everybody's health condition doesn't support to do adventures.