Think about an academic subject that inspires you. Describe how you have furthered this interest inside and/or outside of the classroom.

We were assigned to talk about environmental issues and how to combat them as student in our environment day week at our school. My group choose to talk about plastics and its harms on our planet. However, what intrigued me was how plastics were designed and engineered in the first place. This curiosity led me to discover the subject Materials Science. I begun to observe and analyse all the items I use in my daily life, especially acrylic paints which are finely balanced dispersion of pigment in an emulsion of acrylic polymer and water. The invention of acrylic paint has influenced 20th century art movements by providing of fast drying. Materials technology has improved even simple household items like kitchenware and cleaning epquipments. For example, the microfibre cloth which has nylon strands which are one fifth of that of human hair allowing it to be much more absorbant than the conventional cotton cloth. I had volunteered in a beach cleaning drive at my local beach where we collected all sorts of wastes from broken plastic leads to old polyethene bags. We then sorted them into biodegradable, plastic and metals. Through this hand on experience I was able to see the impact of tiny particles like plastic can cause tremendous effects on the ecosystem. Plastics has caused more harm than good. I believe that the advancement of technology shouldn`t be in the expense of our environment. To gain a better understanding of this subject, I turned to YouTube videos. By opting science stream in 11th and 12th grade it has aided me to further my interests. Although due to the pandemic laboratory activities at our school were resumed but this didn't stop me. I tried simple at home activities and projects like paper chromatography, analysing fertilizer, super absorbants in diapers etc. I aspire a career in materials science technology. By doing extensive research on materials by microscopic techniques we can understand its morphology, composition, physical properties, and dynamic behavior to create products which can not only improve the lives of our future generation but also help solve global environmental issues. .