Why only a small percentage of people read

Reading does wonders both human's physical and mental health and those benefits can last a lifetime. Reading is one of the best habits one can develop. However, in this day and age, there is a small percentage of people read. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this issue. The first considerable reason is that people find reading tedious. In the era of modern technology, electronic devices such as smartphone, computer, and laptop play an vital role in human's life, and people are heavily depending on it. Reading, therefore, is not an appealing option when people get the choice of many visually stimulating experiences from playing computer games and watching TV. When reading makes people imagine what they have read, watching TV does not force them to put any effort to imagine the story. The second reason is lack of concentration. Many people are distracted easily and find it difficult to concentrate on the book and dive into the images and ideas that book brings. To much stress and anxiety in daily life could make reading is hard and frustrating experience. Reading also requires a lot of time, so people who have difficulty in staying focus may not have enough patience to finish it. The important final reason is that people are too busy to read. In mordern society, people snow under work and responsibilities. They have enormous workload, household chores or homework that need to be done. A lot of people even do not have enough time to sleep. Reading also need to invest much time, especially when some books have a thousand pages. It could take months to read and people obviously do not have time for reading. In conclusion, there are three major reasons that are responsible for a small percentage of people read. This issues illustrates an negative sign of the modern society and we should take some measures to encourage more people to read.