In the past few decades, the structure of a family and the resposibility of its members are greatly altering

In the past few decades, the structure of a family and the resposibility of its members are greatly altering. There are some important changes that have taken place and I believe that these changes would have both benefits and drawbacks. Families at present have undergone two main differences compared to the past. In terms of family size, a few decade agos, there were normally three or four generations living under the same roof. These days, however, nuclear families and one-person households are becoming increasingly popular. The cost of living has risen considerably and this prevents people from having too many children. Regarding the responsibility of family members, fathers traditionally take on the role of primary breadwinner, while the job of homemaker is done by mother. However, many women in today’s society have the opportunity to gain qualifications and pursue their own careers, and family financial burdens are now shared by both fathers and mothers. In my opinion, those changes would have both positive and negative consequences. The main major benefit is children of small families are given better education opportunities. Many children have the chance to study abroad and gain international qualifications, which would ensure them a better job after graduation. Nevertheness, working parents are now too busy to take care of their offspring. Without parental care and guidance, children may suffer from various problems, ranging from autism to bad behaviours. Some children even engage in criminal activities such as illegal drug use or unlawful gambling, which may ruin their future. In conclusion, there are several changes in family structure and the role of its members and I would argue that these changes are both beneficial and detrimental.